Back to top

IIE announces winners of 2014 Heiskell Awards

The Institute of International Education (IIE) has announced the winners of the 2014 Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education. The awards showcase the most groundbreaking models for internationalising universities, study abroad, and international partnership programmes.
January 28 2014
2 Min Read

US institutions have “developed new approaches to extending more international opportunities to a broader segment of their student populations, and integrating international programmes into the campus experience” said Allan E Goodman, President and CEO of The Institute of International Education (IIE). This week, IIE honoured exemplary practice in internationalisation efforts by announcing the winners of its 2014 Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education.

The awards recognised 10 initiatives across 13 different campuses with four overall category winners: International Partnerships: University of Michigan (MI) with Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China); Study Abroad: Clemson University (SC); Internationalising the Campus: University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (WI) and Internationalising the Community College: Lone Star College System (TX).

James Holloway, Vice Provost for Global and Engaged Education at the University of Michigan (UM) told The PIE News the university is “thrilled” to have been recognised for its work with Shanghai Jiao Tong University.

“It’s really a unique form of partnership between two institutions, the UM and the SJTU, that are different in many ways but by understanding each other’s interests we were able to create this partnership that serves both,” he explained. The UM-SJTU Joint Institute offers a cross-cultural programme based in China but taught in English, encompassing the best of Chinese and American specialised educational systems.

The successful institutions will present at the Heiskell Awards ceremony in New York City on 14 March, in order to share with other international education practitioners their strategies.

Named after a former chairman of Time Inc. and renowned international and cultural philanthropist, the Andrew Heiskell Awards, now in its 14th year, form part of IIE’s annual Best Practices in Internationalisation Conference for campus professionals and are designed to strengthen international education in the US and around the world.

This year, the IIE recognised several internationalisation initiatives being conducted by institutions outside of the United States, including universities in India, Poland, China, Canada and Mexico, either on their own or in partnership with US campuses.

The full list of winners include:

Study Abroad
: Clemson University (SC)
Honorable Mention: DePaul University (IL)

Internationalizing the Campus
: University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (WI)
Honorable Mention: The University of British Columbia (Canada); University of Hyderabad (India)

International Partnerships
: University of Michigan (MI) with Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China)
Honorable Mention: Franklin University (OH) partnership with Wyzsza Szkola Bankowa (Poland);
Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico (Mexico) partnership with University of North Texas (TX)

Internationalizing the Community College
: Lone Star College System (TX)
Honorable Mention: Valencia College (FL)


Add Your Opinion
Show Response
Leave Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *