Sign up

Have some pie!

Global universities join forces to form U7 Alliance

A new U7 Alliance bringing together the presidents of leading universities from across the G7 countries has formed with the aim of tackling some of the world’s most pressing challenges from climate change to inequality.

The U7 Alliance is made up of universities from the G7 countries - Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, UK and the US. Photo: Unsplash/ Jason Leung

The inaugural summit will be held in Paris on 9-10 July

An international partnership of university presidents from research-intensive institutions who will work together, the U7 Alliance is made up of more than 30 universities from the G7 countries – Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, UK and the US.

“The U7 Alliance will stimulate discussion and ideas, with a view to making long-lasting commitments”

In creating the U7 Alliance, the world’s leading universities recognise they have a unique responsibility as global actors, in fields well beyond academia, to take concrete action both together and within their institutions for a local, regional and global impact.

President and provost of U7 Alliance member University College London, Michael Arthur, said the alliance brings together universities who have a passion for sharing knowledge, finding solutions and making a positive difference to the world.

“Universities are uniquely placed to bring together research, expertise and best practices, which can positively affect our local, national and international communities,” he explained.

“The U7 Alliance will stimulate discussion and ideas, with a view to making long-lasting commitments and taking concrete action and, in doing so, we can further demonstrate the public good of universities.”

The U7 Alliance will also meet yearly for an annual summit to discuss a common agenda and establish a space for universities’ action.

The inaugural summit will be held in Paris on 9-10 July and will tackle five major global challenges: the key role of universities in a global world; climate change and cleaner energy; inequality and polarised societies; technological transformations; and community engagement and impact.

Hosted at Sciences Po, the summit will conclude with 15 concrete commitments, as voted on by the university presidents.

For the first U7 Alliance summit, invitations have also been extended to institutions in 14 other countries – Argentina, Morocco, Senegal, Kenya, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, India, Ghana, South Africa, Australia, South Korea, Singapore and Mexico.

Founding members of the U7 Alliance

  1. University College of London – Great Britain
  2. University of Cambridge – Great Britain
  3. Imperial College London – Great Britain
  4. University of Edinburgh – Great Britain
  5. London School of Economics and Political Science – Great Britain
  6. Freie Universität Berlin – Germany
  7. Universität Heidelberg – Germany
  8. Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich – Germany
  9. University of Mannheim – Germany
  10. Technical University of Munich – Germany
  11. Universita Bocconi – Italy
  12. University of Naples Federico II – Italy
  13. Sapienza University of Rome – Italy
  14. Columbia University, New York – United States of America
  15. University of British Columbia – Canada
  16. McGill University – Canada
  17. Université de Montréal – Canada
  18. University of Ottawa – Canada
  19. University of Toronto – Canada
  20. Hitotsubashi University – Japan
  21. Keio University – Japan
  22. Osaka University – Japan
  23. University of Tokyo – Japan
  24. Aix-Marseille Université – France
  25. Université de Bordeaux – France
  26. Université Côte d’Azur –France
  27. Ecole Polytechnique – France
  28. Université Grenoble Alpes – France
  29. HEC Paris – France
  30. Université de Lyon – France
  31. Université Paris Diderot – France
  32. Université Paris Saclay – France
  33. Université Paris Sciences et Lettres – France
  34. Sciences Po – France
  35. Sorbonne Université – France
  36. Université de Strasbourg -France

Universities invited to the first summit

  1. Ashesi University – Ghana
  2. University of Cape Town – South Africa
  3. Université Cheikh Anta Diop – Senegal
  4. University of Ibadan – Nigeria
  5. Institut National Polytechnique Félix Houphouët-Boigny – Ivory Coast
  6. Université Mohammed VI Polytechnique – Morocco
  7. Australian National University – Australia
  8. Seoul National University – South Korea
  9. Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico – Mexico
  10. National University of Singapore – Singapore


Related articles

Still looking? Find by category:

Add your comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer: All user contributions posted on this site are those of the user ONLY and NOT those of The PIE Ltd or its associated trademarks, websites and services. The PIE Ltd does not necessarily endorse, support, sanction, encourage, verify or agree with any comments, opinions or statements or other content provided by users.

To receive The PIE Weekly with our top stories and insights, and other updates from us, please